Nigeria Missing As South Africa Includes Ghana To List Of Visa Waiver Countries (Full List)

Nigeria Missing As South Africa Includes Ghana To List Of Visa Waiver Countries (Full List)

In its attempt to boost tourism in the country, the government of South Africa is reported to have finalized a number of visa waiver agreements with other countries, allowing travelers to enter the country without a visa.

News24 reports that the announcement was made by Minister of Home Affairs, Malusi Gigaba on Tuesday, September 25 in Pretoria.

According to the news outlet, citizens from countries which will now no longer require a visa to travel to SA include Algeria, Egypt, Morocco, Ghana, United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Iran, Lebanon, the State of Palestine, Belarus, Georgia and Cuba.

Nigeria was missing on the list!

These countries are expected to join the likes of UK, US, Germany, France, the Netherlands, Australia, Brazil and Canada whose citizens already have visa waiver agreements.

“We have implemented a visa waiver for all citizens of the Russian Federation and Angola, on 1 April 2017 and 1 December 2017, respectively, to travel to SA without having to apply for a visa,” Gigaba said.

Despite being part of the top 10 overseas tourism market, nationals from China and India still require a visa to visit SA. Gigaba, however, said his department is simplifying visa requirements for these countries.

“This will include taking biometrics on arrival in SA, which will speed up getting through customs for tourists from China and India as well as allowing visa applications via courier and the issuing of five-year multiple entry visas,” Gigaba said.

“Easing movement in this manner will help in attracting a larger number of tourists, business people, and families.”

These amendments follow the announcement by President Cyril Ramaphosa on Friday on changes to the visa regime as part of the economic stimulus and recovery plan.

(0 votes) 0/5
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email